DePaul’s Ben of Schaumburg, Marquette’s Madden of Deer Park recognized by Big East; NU’s Sharples of Naperville on All-Big Ten First Team and Kela Gray of Chicago named to All-SWAC First Team

CHICAGO (Nov. 1, 2017) – Eclipse Select Soccer Club alumni were recognized among the collegiate ranks as multiple NCAA Division I conferences doled out their 2017 season awards. Four former Eclipse Select players earned first-team accolades for their respective conferences.
On Saturday, the Big East Conference recognized three former Eclipse Select players — two on the Big East First Team.
DePaul senior midfielder Alexa Ben (Schaumburg, Ill.) and Marquette redshirt junior forward Carrie Madden (Deer Park, Ill.) were selected to the first team. For Ben, this is her third consecutive season on the Big East First Team list, and she was on the second team during her Big East Freshman of the Year campaign in 2014. This year, Ben ranks second on the Blue Demons with seven goals, including the program’s only two penalty kick conversions, to go along with an assist.
Through last Sunday’s Big East Tournament quarterfinal win against Xavier, Madden leads Marquette with seven goals and 19 points. She tallied the game-winning goal during a 2-0 victory at Seton Hall last Thursday, grabbing weekly honor roll recognition in the conference.
Madden’s teammate Kylie Sprecher (Menomonee Falls, Wis.) was also named to the Big East All-Freshman Team. The Golden Eagles forward leads her side with six assists to go along with three goals in 20 appearances.
Marquette faces Georgetown this Thursday in the Big East Semifinals, with the winner earning the right to play in the conference championship this Sunday.
In the Big Ten Conference on Friday, Northwestern junior defender Kayla Sharples (Naperville, Ill.) was named to the All-Big Ten First Team. She helped anchor one of the top back lines in the Big Ten while also contributing three goals and three assists in the attack.
Sharples’ NU teammate and Eclipse alumna Hannah Davison (Geneva, Ill.) and Michigan junior forward Reilly Martin (Carmel, Ind.), also a former member of Eclipse Select, were named to the All-Big Ten Third Team.
In the SWAC, Howard senior forward Kela Gray (Chicago, Ill.) was named to the All-SWAC First Team after putting together an incredible stretch run in the attacking end. Gray led the Bison with eight goals to go along with three assists. The remarkable feat is that Gray’s offensive contributions came over the course of the final 11 games of the season.
In the Horizon League, Illinois-Chicago sophomore forward Tamae Douglas (Chicago, Ill.) garnered All-Horizon League Second Team honors after leading the Flames program with four goals this season. She was named to the Horizon League All-Freshman Team during the 2016 campaign.
In the SEC, South Carolina sophomore defender Tatumn Milazzo (Orland Park, Ill.) garnered All-SEC Second Team accolades. The versatile defender, who split time as both a center back and right back, made 17 starts and helped the back line concede only eight goals this year. Also in the SEC, Ole Miss forward Channing Foster (Murray, Ky.) was named to the All-SEC Freshman Team after opening a fantastic scoring account to her young collegiate career. Foster recorded 12 goals, which ranked second in the NCAA among all freshmen and was the most in the SEC.
Eclipse Select alumni postseason honors
Big East Conference:
Alexa Ben, M, DePaul (Schaumburg, Ill.) – Big East First Team
Carrie Madden, F, Marquette (Deer Park, Ill.) – Big East First Team
Kyle Sprecher, F, Marquette (Menomonee Falls, Wis.) – Big East All-Freshman Team
Big Ten Conference:
Kayla Sharples, D, Northwestern (Naperville, Ill.) – All-Big Ten First Team
Hannah Davison, D, Northwestern (Geneva, Ill.) – All-Big Ten Third Team
Reilly Martin, F, Michigan (Carmel, Ind.) – All-Big Ten Third Team
Kela Gray, F, Howard (Chicago, Ill.) – All-SWAC First Team
Horizon League:
Tamae Douglas, F, Illinois-Chicago (Chicago, Ill.) – All-Horizon League Second Team
Tatumn Milazzo, South Carolina (Orland Park, Ill.) – All-SEC Second Team
Channing Foster, F, Ole Miss (Murray, Ky.) – All-SEC Freshman Team