Schaumburg native and DePaul senior midfielder among 30 top collegiate women on list

CHICAGO (Aug. 9, 2017) – Eclipse Select Soccer Club alumna Alexa Ben (Schaumburg, Ill.), a senior midfielder with DePaul, has been named to the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, it was announced Monday by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.
The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented to the top male and female players of the year following the collegiate season. The 2017 winners will be awarded on Jan. 5, 2018, at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Thirty women were named to the watch list.
Ben has had a tremendous career with the Blue Demons from the very start. She was the 2014 Big East Conference Rookie of the Year, the 2016 Big East Midfielder of the Year and is a two-time All-Big East First Team selection. Last year, she tallied seven goals and three assists.
In three seasons, Ben has posted 20 goals and 21 assists in 58 games (all starts) for DePaul. Ben’s 11 assists in 2014 set a DePaul program record.
The MAC Hermann Trophy has been awarded to National Soccer Hall of Fame players such as women’s legends Mia Hamm, Michelle Akers and Kristine Lilly, to current household names such as Christen Press and two-time winner Morgan Brian.